Flying By
current - archives - nanowrimo - 100 books - rings - profile - email - notes - host - image - design

Delirious ramblings of a struggling novelist/mother
Monday, Nov. 12, 2007, 23:35

Well, I'm sitting here at my laptop waiting for the NaNoWriMo web site to load so that I can submit my latest word count, and I figured I could add another entry into my new diary.
-----------------
Yesterday, my hubby had duty at work, but he agreed to let the children stay with him for a couple of hours. Let me just tell you that this greatly surprised me since he is not prone to having the children at work for long periods of time. However, not wanting to look a gift horse in the mouth, so-to-speak, I gladly took up his offer and headed down to the local coffee house. For the next three hours, I relaxed with a Turtle cappuccino (at the recommendation of my friend, Nikki), a bar of chocolate, and my novel.

I don't know why, but for some reason I can write more easily at this coffee house than I can in my own home. Even stranger, it doesn't matter if I am surrounded by my family or not, the words just don't seem to flow as smoothly when I'm at home. Anyway, this weird puzzle aside, I managed to write over 4,000 words. Needless to say, I was extremely satisfied with my effort.

As for today, I stayed home and took care of my two children. My daughter did not have school today, and this added to my already frustrating, hormonal temperament. Around ten o'clock, the hubby finally came home, but went straight to bed, and I was left with no choice but to send the children to their rooms since they did not seem to want to listen. Yes, I know this is normal for children, but it just was not what my head needed at the time.

Ugh... anyway, after getting absolutely no writing done all day long, I finally gave in to my motherly desires and watched movies with the kids and hubby. After sitting through Eragon and The Chronicles of Narnia, I got my daughter in the bath, washed her up, and tucked her into bed... meanwhile, my hubby did the same with our son. YAY!!! I then chose to end my day by doing a few loads of laundry and writing more of my novel.

2,000+ words later, and this entry winding down to its end, I am still waiting for my word count submission to finish calculating and load. I cannot help but hear the Jeopardy! theme music playing in the background...

~Ciao

last - next